2021 School of Cities Urban Leadership Fellowship and Academy Virtual Research Symposium


2021 Virtual research Festival Banner with dates for sessions.


Student fellows and academy members presented original and interdisciplinary research projects and the impact they have made through their research, social interventions and practice in this Student Virtual Research Symposium, from June 24, 2021 to June 26, 2021.

The School of Cities Urban Leadership Fellowship and Academy is a tri-campus interdisciplinary academic platform to foster student academic and civic engagement and leadership in city-building and urban scholarship. The Fellowship program and The Academy, structured around thematic working groups on critical urban challenges based on students' interest and research focus, provide an opportunity for ethical research, compelling conversations and interventions on critical urban challenges and issues, and in different fora of civic and social engagement. Our students are current U of T students with strong interest in and passion for cities and urban critical challenges, who have led an innovative and impactful project in 2020/2021.

Convener: Prof. Marieme Lo, Associate Director, Education, education.sofc@utoronto.ca

Click to explore the projects:


 Thursday, June 24, 2021





 Friday, June 25, 2021





 Saturday, June 26, 2021


Presenter Presentation Title
Bryan Yau — Urban Governance, Law and Policies Revisiting the Toronto Strong Neighbourhoods Strategy 2020
Fatima Ahmed Reimagining the Algorithmic Society: From the Margins to the Centre
Charmain Wong Chasing Chinatown: Understanding the Past, Present, and Future of Toronto’s Downtown Chinatown as a Contested Space of Cultural Placemaking
Natasha RasetaInfrastructure and Design / Design, Technology and Urbanism Vertical Resilience
Catherine EconomopoulosSustainable Cities Building on Tradition: Bringing Age-Old Indigenous Practices to the Modern City for a Cleaner, Greener Future





Education Team

  • Professor Marieme Lo, Associate Director, Education
  • Katherine Danks, Programs Officer
  • Anna Pan, RA
  • Abeir Liton, RA

Congratulations Card